Contrary to the popular perception that Assam is among the poorest of states, there are at least 112 crorepati candidates contesting in the assembly elections. This constitute around 21 per cent of the total  539 candidates in fray. In the first phase of polling – to be held on April 4, 2016 in 65 assembly constituencies, at least 56 have declared assets of more than Rs 1 crore, with Jyoti Subba, wife of lottery baron Mani Kumar Subba, leading the list of richest candidates.

Moreover, there are 20 candidates (4% of the total candidates) with declared worth over Rs 20 crore. Another 46 (9%) candidates have assets between Rs 2 to 5 crore. Altogether 119 candidates (22%) have properties between Rs 50 lakh and Rs 2 crore. However, 230 candidates, which accounts for 43% of the total candidates, have assets worth less than Rs 10 lakh.

These details, after necessary scrutiny of the self-sworn affidavits filled by the candidates to the election commission, were released by the Assam Election Watch and the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).


The ruling Congress party has the largest number of crorepati candidates. At least 36 of the 65 candidates fielded by Congress (55 per cent), 23 of 54 candidates of the BJP (43 per cent), 7 of the 11 candidates of the Asom Gana Parishad (64 per cent), two (22 per cent) out of nine candidates fielded by NCP, two (67 per cent) out of three candidates of Bodoland People’s Front and 26 (9 per cent) of 280 Independent candidates have declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore.

The average assets per candidate contesting in the first phase of polls is Rs 1.47 crore, the report added.

Among the major parties, the average assets per candidate for the 65 INC nominees is Rs 2.62 crore, while the 54 BJP candidates have average assets of Rs 1.50 crore. The 27 AIUDF candidates have average assets worth Rs 1.06 crore, the 13 SUCI(C) candidates have average assets worth Rs 10.35 lakh, 11 Asom Gana Parishad candidates have average assets worth Rs 6.06 crore, average asset of 10 CPI(M) candidates is Rs 35.78 lakh, 10 CPI candidates have average assets of Rs 16.05 lakh and 280 Independent candidates have average assets of Rs 1.48 crore.

Here’s the list of the richest candidates:

Jyoti Subba – Wife of former MP Moni Kumar Subba, Jyoti Subba has a declared Rs 1,41,41,30,990 in moveable and Rs 1,46,70,53,372 in immovable assets. Her combined declared assets amount to Rs 288 crore. Subba is an independent candidate from Sootea constituency in Tezpur district.

Naren Sonowal – Sonowal is an AGP candidate from Naharkatia constituency of Dibrugarh district and has declared assets amounting to Rs 33,94,60,623.

Rahul Roy – Congress candidate from Algapur in Hailakandi district, Rahul Roy has replaced his mother Mandira Roy this time. He has a total of Rs 25 crore assets to his name. Roy, the son of veteran Congress leader and Hailakandi MLA Gautam Roy, is the third richest candidate.

Jayanta Khaund – AGP candidate from Navicha in North Lakhimpur district, Jayanta Khaund has assets of Rs 21 crore. Khaund has managed to secure the 4 position.

Sanjay Raj Subba – Veteran congress leader Sanjay Raj Subba has a total of Rs 13 crore. He is contesting from Naovaicha constituency.

Bharat Chandra Narah – Senior leader and advisor to chief minister Tarun Gogoi, Bharat Narah has total assets of Rs 10 crore. Narah is contesting from Dhaukulchana constituency of North Lakhimpur district on Congress ticket.

Bithika Dev – Wife of former MP Santosh Mohan Dev, Bithika Dev, is the Congress candidate from Silchar constituency and has a total of Rs 9 crore assets to her name.


Zero asset candidate: 2 candidates namely Jiten Tanti of CPI (ML)(L) from Teok constituency and Diganta Phukan of Independent from Mariani constituency have declared Zero assets in their self sworn affidavits.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]