3 Trains Cancelled, Several Diverted As A Line At Samuktala Station Blocked

At least two persons were killed and six others sustained injuries when the engine and two coaches (one SLR and one General Second class coach) of 13248 Up Rajendra Nagar – Guwahati Capital Express derailed at Samuktala Road station under Alipurduar division of Northeast Frontier Railway in Alipurduar district of West Bengal at around 9.15 pm on Tuesday.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

The injured have been identified as Indrajit Mandal (25), Parikshit Mandal (40), Pritam Mandal (16), Rupa Mandal (34), Shah Jamal Sheikh (35) and Surender Prasad (38).

The deceased are yet to be identified. “The injured were given treatment by railway doctors who reached the site soon after the accident. Ex-gratia payment of Rs 5000 each has been made to the injured,” said a statement released by the railways.

The unaffected portion of the train consisting of 19 coaches was detached and pushed back from the site. The train resumed its journey at 05.10 am on Wednesday morning after rescue and relief operation was completed.

Following temporary disruption of train services as a result of the accident, the following trains are cancelled, diverted and short-terminated.


55753/55754 Alipurduar – Guwahati – Alipurduar Sifung Passenger on 7-12-16.
15769/15770 Alipurduar – Lumding – Alipurduar Intercity Express on 7-12-16.
15771/15772 Alipurduar – Kamakhya – Alipurduar Intercity Express on 7-12-16.

ALSO READ:  Rahul is not fit for politics, does not have 'systematic seriousness': Himanta Biswa Sarma

55713 New Jalpaiguri – Rangiya Passenger will be short-terminated at New Coochbehar and will return from New Coochbehar as per timing of 55714.
55714 Rangiya – New Jalpaiguri Passenger will be short terminated at New Bongaigaon and will return as per timings of 55713.

As one of the lines at Samuktala station has been blocked, a few trains will be run via New Coochbehar – Golakganj – Fakiragram – New Bongaigaon route instead of New Coochbehar – Samuktala – New Bongaigaon route. These are:
1. 12515 Tiruvanantapuram (TVC) – Guwahati Express
2. 14056 Up Delhi – Dibrugarh Brahmaputra Mail
3. 15904 up Chandigarh – Dibrugarh express
4. 12506 up NE Express
5. 15619 up Gaya-Kamakhya Express
6. 5959 up Kamrup Express
7. 12345 up Saraighat Express
8. 06336 up Kachuveli-Guwahati special train

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


19.6% teacher posts in Assam lying vacant: HRD minister in Lok Sabha

Bravo Career India, Future Group to generate 1,000 skilled workforce in NE