Manipur on Wednesday got its first BJP government, with Footballer-turned-journalist-turned-politician N Biren Singh taking oath as the chief minister.

Goveror Najma Heptullah administered the oath of office and secrecy to N Biren Singh and eight other ministers.

Hours after saying there would be no Deputy Chief Minister, Y Joykumar of the National People’s Party (NPP) was given the post.

The other cabinet ministers included Thongam Bishwajit, Langpoklakpam Jayentakumar, Karam Shyam, L Haokip, L Kiisi, Thounaojam Shyamkumar and L Dikko.

Shyamkumar was elected on Trinamool Congress ticket. He backed N Biren Singh in front of the Governor.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, the NPP, the Naga People’s Front, Trinamool Congress and the Lok Janshakti Party are represented in the government.

The lone independent legislator, Asabuddin, was not inducted and nor was he present on the occasion.

Biren Singh gave no indication when the next expansion would take place.

BJP president Amit Shah and cabinet minister M Venkaaiah Naidu were scheduled to attend the event. But their plane was force to land at Agra due to technical snags.

Former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh was one of the guests at the function.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]