Tawang, in Arunachal Pradesh, will witness a unique convergence of India’s cultural heritage as it plays host to the Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav from March 23.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

Organised by the Ministry of Culture, the 5th edition of Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav will begin from the picturesque Tawang after which, the festival will touch more than 100 villages and townships in Northeast India – from Tezu to Majuli, Guwahati, Imphal, Aizawl, Shillong, Gangtok, Dimapur to Khowai in Tripura.

The Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav was conceptualized in 2015 by Ministry of Culture under the aegis of Government of India to celebrate the spirit of tradition, culture, heritage and diversity of incredible India. The main objective of the cultural extravaganza is to preserve, promote and popularize the heritage, diversity and unity of Indian culture and reconnect the new generation.

Earlier, Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav was organized at IGNCA, New Delhi (2015, 2016), Varanasi (December, 2016) and Bengaluru (March, 2017).

The 5th edition of the unique festival will be organised across the Northeast India from March 23 to March 23.

Talking to the media, director, North East Zone Cultural Centre (NEZCC) Dr Om Prakash Bharti informed that the festival will be inaugurated at Parade Ground, Tawang on March 23. “The main stage at Parade Ground will exhibit cultural programmes from March 23 to March 25. The cultural programmes will then be extended to Dimapur (Nagaland), Majuli (Assam), Imphal (Manipur), Aizawl (Mizoram), Gangtok (Sikkim), Shillong (Meghalaya) and Khowai (Tripura).”

ALSO READ:  Meghalaya cabinet approves mental health policy

Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Pema Khandu will inaugurate the nine-day cultural extravaganza. Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav will witness over 5,000 artists from Northeast along with 2,000 other artists from across the country taking part in the rich cultural exchange. About 300 art forms will be showcased during the cultural festival.

During the festival, around 100 artists representing several tribes and communities of Arunachal Pradesh, will exhibit the cultural tradition of the state. Apart from the artists of Arunachal Pradesh, 500 artists from across the country will take part in folk and classical dance and music. Varied art forms like Buddhist Chanting, Vedic Chanting, Purulia Chhau, Yoga, Bharatnatyam, Odishi, Kuchipudi, Sattriya, Kathakali, Kathak, Manipuri, Mohiniyattam, Dhol Cholam, Pung Cholam, Conch, Bhortal Nritya, Rouf, Sri Khol, Tati music, Dholu Kunitha, Ghoomar, Bhavai, Chari, Gudum Baja, Bihu, Sambalpuri, Zoi Mal Lok dance, Aji Lhamu, Domey Tseric, Ponung, Erap, Sedibela, Brozai, Aney-na, Yak dance and Sapolo will be staged during the inaugural programme at Parade Ground in Tawang.

The extended programmes will be convened as under:
Dimapur – March 26-28
Majuli – March 27-29
Imphal – March 27-29
Aizawl – March 28-30
Gangtok – March 28-30
Shillong – March 29-31
Khowai – March 29-31

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Dalai Lama to visit Assam and Arunachal Pradesh from April 1

Congress MLA in Manipur T Shyamkumar faces disqualification