Assam finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on May 8 tabled The Assam Goods and Services Tax Bill, 2017 in the state assembly on the first day of the three-day special session.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

Eight states – Telangana, Bihar, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh and Haryana – have already passed the State Goods and Services Tax (SGST) Act in their respective state assemblies, even as the central government plans to roll out the new tax regime that aims to help turn India into one common market from July 1 next.

Earlier, the GST Council had approved the model State GST (SGST) Bill in its 12 meeting held on March 16, 2017. The next GST Council meeting is scheduled to be held at Srinagar in J&K on May 18-19, 2017.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Subramanian Swamy tweets about ‘rumour of Gaurav Gogoi joining BJP’

Self-drive car rental Zoomcar offers vehicles for travel across Northeast