The winners

Santwana Bordoloi-directed ‘Maj Rati Keteki’ won the best film award and Narayan Seal has won the best director award for his Mising language film Li:Len as the Sailadhar Baruah memorial film awards were given away on Wednesday.

There were six categories. Anurag Saikia was awarded as the best music director for ‘Dikchow Banat Palaax’ and ‘Maj Rati Keteki’. The best technician award went to Debajit Gayan (sound design) for ‘Haanduk’ directed by Jaicheng Jai Dohutia. Mintu Baruah was adjudged as best actor (male) for ‘Dooronir Nirola Poja’ and best actor (female) went to Pranami Bora for her acting in ‘Sonar Baran Pakhi’.

Meanwhile, the jury special mention went to Jaicheng Jai Dohutia and child actor Mahendra Rabha for ‘Maj Rati Keteki’.

Altogether 12 films censored between January 1 of 2016 to December 31 participated at the awards. The five-member jury led by veteran director-cinematographer Arup Manna selected the films. The jury members were actress Runu Devi, music composer-sound recordist Jatin Sharma, director-editor Ranjit Das and journalist-film critic Munin Bayan.

Santwana Bordoloi receiving the best film award – The News Mill
Santana Bordoloi receiving the best film Award for her film “Majratir Keteki” from Nipan Goswami during 2nd Sailadhar Barua Film Awards 2017, at District Library in Guwahati on Wednesday

After the award ceremony, ‘Maj Rati Keteki’ was screened.

The awards were instituted by the Sailadhar Baruah Trust. Sailadhar Baruah was a prominent filmmaker of the state who along with Jahnu Barua made several award-winning films and brought laurels to the state. Baruah had passed away on January 10 in 2010.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Assam secretariat women employees get free bus service

‘Growing up in violence-hit zones deeply affect children’s psyche’