Ranjan Daimary (file photo)

A special CBI court in Guwahati on January 30 sentenced National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) founder Ranjan Daimary and nine others to life imprisonment in the 2008 Assam serial blasts case. The court on Wednesday convicted 14 in the case. The remaining four have served their sentence and paid fine in the case.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

On October 30, 2008, several serial blasts rocked four districts of Assam killing 88 people.

Daimary was the main accused in the serial blasts that ripped through Guwahati’s Ganeshguri, Panbazar and Kachari areas and also struck Barpeta Road, Kokrajhar and Bongaigaon almost simultaneously.

The Central Bureau of Investigation had filed a charge-sheet against 22 people, including the NDFB chief in 2009. The charge-sheet also named 650 witnesses and listed 682 documents, including post-mortem reports, confessional statements of those apprehended and details of calls made by some of the accused.

The CBI had chargesheeted total 22 accused in this case and seven of them – Jitu Daimary, Arun Borgayary alias Dinthilang, Bishnu Goyari alias G. Bidai, Tarun Swargiary, Tensu Narzary alia Thungri Boro, Dinesh Boro and Uttam Swargiary alias Ulafat – were declared absconders.

Of the absconders, Uttam, Tensu and Dinesh were believed to be dead.

Ranjan Daimary, Gorge Boro, Ajay Basumatary, Rahul Brahma, Rajen Goyari, Onsai Boro, Lokra Basumatary, Indra Brahma, Boisagi Basumatary alias B. Thorai and Raju Sarkar have been sentenced for life imprisonment.

ALSO READ:  66 rape victims killed, 105 died by suicide in Tripura under BJP rule: CPIM

Jayanti Brahma, Mathuram Brahma and Prabhat Boro have been imposed fine. And Nilim Daimary who has already served 10 years in jail was let go by paying a fine of Rs 100.

Daimary was arrested in Bangladesh and handed over to Indian authorities in May 2010.

Daimary, also known as DR Nabla, formed the Boro Security Force in October 3, 1986 and later changed its name to NDFB.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


11 political parties come together to protest Citizenship Amendment Bill

Gurpreet stars as NorthEast United fights hard with Bengaluru FC