Representative Image

Three BJP candidates contesting the forthcoming polls to the Arunachal Pradesh legislative assembly were on Thursday declared winner uncontested by the Chief Election Officer of the state.

Confirming the decision, additional CEO Kanki Darang said Phurpa Tsering won uncontested from Dirang assembly constituency, Taba Tedir from Yachuli constituency and Kento Jini from the Along East Assembly constituency were declared winner uncontested.

The polls to the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly and the two Lok Sabha seats are being held simultaneously on April 11.

“While the nomination filed by the second candidates in Alo East and Yachuli constituencies got rejected, the two other candidates who filed nominations in Dirang constituency withdrew their nominations today,” said the additional CEO.

In 2014, the Congress won 11 assembly seats unopposed.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]