Saffron surge sweeps Northeast states as well

bjpassam win – The News Mill
File photograph

The saffron surge that swept the entire country on Thursday also gripped India’s Northeast with the BJP winning 14 out of the total 25 seats on its own in the eight Northeast states.

In Assam, BJP won nine out of the 14 Lok Sabha seats including Autonomous Council (Diphu), Dibrugarh, Guwahati, Jorhat, Karimganj, Lakhimpur, Mangaldai, Tezpur and Silchar seats.

The party also won the two Lok Sabha seats each in Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura, and one of the two Lok Sabha seats in Manipur.

The BJP is ruling in Assam, Tripura and Manipur state assemblies while it retained power in Arunachal Pradesh.

In Assam, the Congress retained its tally of three seats this time winning the Kaliabor, Nowgong and Barpeta Lok Sabha seats. While Kaliabor is a fortress of Congress, the party showed gain in Barpeta and Nowgong Lok Sabha seats, which were held by All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and BJP respectively in the past.

Nowgong Lok Sabha seat is important as Nowgong used to be a citadel of the BJP held by sitting MP and Union Minister of state for railway, Rajen Gohain.

BJP’s alliance partner, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), who contested three seats failed to make any impact.

The AIUDF led by Badruddin Ajmal in Assam retained the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat. The Kokrajhar Lok Sabha seat in Assam went to sitting Lok Sabha MP, Naba Kumar Sarania, an Independent candidate.

Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal credited the Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the victory, saying the people of the country have reposed faith in the visionary leadership of the prime minister.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]