Representative Image

India will take on Sri Lanka in a three-match T20 series at home in January, 2020, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in a statement on Wednesday.

The first T20 will be played at Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati on January 5, followed by the second match in Indore on January 7. Pune will host the third and final match on January 10.

India was supposed to host Zimbabwe in a T20 series with Guwahati as one of the venue. But, after the suspension of Zimbabwe by the ICC, the Sri Lankan team was invited by the BCCI for the three-match series.

“In the wake of Zimbabwe’s suspension by the ICC, the BCCI invited Sri Lanka to participate in a three-match T20 series. Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed their participation,” read the BCCI statement.

India recently played South Africa in a T20I series, which ended 1-1 after the first match was washed out. Virat Kohli and Co. will now take on the Proteas in a three-Test series starting October 2 in Visakhapatnam.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]