BJP wins Badharghat by-poll in Tripura

Tripura bypoll BJP win – The News Mill

Teacher-turned politician Mimi Majumdar won Badharghat by-poll as BJP candidate defeating her nearest rival of CPI (M), a sitting councillor of Agartala Municipal Corporation Bulti Biswas by a margin of 5,260 votes.

While Mimi Majumdar secured 20,471 votes, Biswas got 15,211 votes in the election. Congress candidate Ratan Chandra Das got 9,101 votes.

Election in Badharghat was held on September 23, counting for which was conducted on September 27. There was no complaint from any party and the election was violence-free where 79.29 per cent voters exercised their franchise.

In 2018 assembly polls, BJP candidate Dilip Sarkar won the seat by a margin of 5,448 votes. The seat left vacant following his death in April this year.

The vote share of both BJP and Congress has reduced substantially in the by-poll compared to the assembly election last year.

In last year election, BJP candidate Sarkar had secured 28,561 votes and his nearest rival of CPI (M) sitting Rajya Sabha MP Jharna Das Baidya had got 23,113 votes, which has decreased to 20,471 and 15,211 respectively. However, the vote share of Congress has increased from 505 to 9,101 votes.

The BJP termed the victory as ‘development and the march towards new Tripura’. Party spokesperson Nabendu Bhattacharjee said that people of Tripura in last 18 months see the change of governance and holistic development of the state under the chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb.

The opposing CPI (M) and Congress have also congratulated their voters.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]