Eminent writer Homen Borgohain was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the sixth edition of Sadin-Pratidin Achievers Award which was presented on October 23 in presence of a number of social leaders drawing from every walk of Assam’s social spectrum.

Every year, the Guwahati-based media group awards some of the luminaries who have excelled in their chosen area of activities ranging from literature to corporate, from culture to sports.

The ceremony was attended by Assam Governor Jagadish Mukhi and Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal while former President Pranab Mukherjee joined through a video link due to his indisposition.

Addressing the occasion, former President Mukherjee lauded the media group and it’s Group Chairman Jayanta Barua for recognizing the talents of the state through the award. He also recalled the emergence of the house from the family of Hemnchadra Barua, who a century ago, gave Assam and Assamese its first dictionary Hemkosh.

Parsing the awardees, Homen Borgogain in particular for his long contribution to the field of journalism, Mukherjee went on to describe how media had been playing the role of nation-building over the decades in India and urged it to remain watchdog for a healthy democracy.

Speaking on occasion, Assam Governor Mukhi congratulated the media group has felicitating people from all walks of life every year. “Today, media has been well-established. We are living in an era of information technology where media plays a vital role in influencing and changing socio and political values. As we all know that media is considered to be the fourth pillar in a democratic country and it maintains a balance between the other three pillars – judiciary, executive and legislative. Therefore, it is very important for all the media houses to be responsible in what message they are delivering,” he said.

Addressing the occasion, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal appreciated the media group for its unbiased reportage over the decade and urged media to be positive watchdog for the government.

Earlier, Chairman of Sadin-Pratidin group Jayanta Barua welcoming the invitees, awardees and the dignitaries, committed that the group, like the past three decades, would continue to serve the state of Assam and would raise the issue that state confronts.

The complete list of Achievers Awards 2019:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Homen Borgohain
  • Sadin Journalism & Literature Award: Shashi Sarma
  • Excellence in Art: Janak Jhankar Narzary
  • Excellence in Sports: Lovlina Borgohain, Jamuna Boro
  • Excellence in Business: Oja Group
  • Excellence in Social Service: Patal Kanya Jamatia
  • Excellence in Corporate: Ranjit Barthakur
  • Excellence in Culture: Rima Das
  • Excellence in Music: Kalpana Patowary
  • Excellence in Science & Innovation: Khiradhar Baruah
  • Excellence in Health Care: Dr Tapan Kumar Saikia
  • Excellence in Public Service: Ram Singh
  • Spl. Appreciation of Jury: Debabrata Rabha

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


FC Goa on song in opener against Chennaiyin FC

Opposition criticizes Assam government’s two-child policy for government jobs