File photo of the tournament

England defeated USA in the opening match of the 13th Manipur Polo international, 2019, pumping in nine goals while the USA team managed to pull back just two goals at the end of the match.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

For the many lovers of polo who have keenly following this prestigious tournament, the result came as a bit of a surprise as the US team has always been a strong contender in all the previous editions of this tournament and was the winner in 2015.

The dominance of the England team was palpable from the very 1st chukker of the match with three goals coming in quick succession within the first minute of the match. Will Seth Smith opened the account for England in the 16th, George Amor followed it up with another goal in the 33rd second while Chris Crawford scored the third goal in the 1.01 minute.

USA managed to pull one back in the 2.15th minute through Tommy Huber in the 2.15th minute but from there on it was England in the 1st chukker. Ben Eley also opened his account for England with a goal in the 3.35th minute while George Amor scored his second goal in the 4.41st minute to make it 5-1 at the end of the 1st chukker.

ALSO READ:  FIFA WC: Eventful first half between European giants Spain, Germany ends at 0-0

In the 2nd and 3rd chukker, the USA drew a complete blank. For England, George Amor was unstoppable scoring his 3rd and fourth goal in the 1.23rd minute and 7.14th minute of the 2nd chukker.

England incidentally also failed to add to its tally in the 3rd chhukker. In the 4th chukker, England added two more goals through Ben Eley in the .10th minute and Chris Crawford in 7.14th minute while for the USA team Tommy Huber scored his second goal. The final score 9-2, in favour of England.

Lt Col Sammer Choudhary, India A team captain and S Girimohan of Manipur officiated the match. On the 2nd day (November 23) of the tournament, India A will take on England while India B (Manipur) will clash with France.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Chakma forum opposes Citizenship Amendment Bill, says not beneficiary of CAB

Fadnavis sworn-in as Maharashtra CM, Ajit Pawar as Dy CM