BJP candidate Bhubneswar Kalita files his nomination in Guwahati on March 13

Former state Congress chief Bhubaneswar Kalita filed its nomination on March 13 as ruling BJP-led coalition government’s candidate for Rajya Sabha from Assam, while veteran journalist and anti-CAA activist Ajit Bhuyan became the united Opposition’s joint nominee.

Kalita, who had joined the BJP last year, filed his nomination before the Returning Officer in the state Assembly premise in Guwahati on the last date of filing of nomination.

He was accompanied by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, state BJP chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass and state Cabinet Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, among others.

Biswajit Daimary, who is seeking re-election to the Upper House as the ruling coalition’s partner Bodoland People’s Front’s (BPF) nominee, also accompanied Kalita.

Daimary has already filed his nomination earlier. Meanwhile, Ajit Bhuyan also filed his nomination, accompanied by senior Congress leaders like ex- CM Tarun Gogoi and state party chief Ripun Bora, and AIUDF president Badruddin Ajmal.

The Congress and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) had earlier announced of supporting Bhuyan, a senior journalist and prominent leader of anti-CAA movement in the state, as its joint candidate for the Rajya Sabha.

Election for three Rajya Sabha seats in Assam is scheduled on March 26 next.

While the BJP-led ruling coalition has named candidates for two seats, the combined Opposition will be bagging the third seat through its joint candidate.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]