Gujarati film ‘Hellaro’, which won the Best Film honour at the 2019 National Film Awards as well as was the opening film of Indian Panorama at the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) last year, has won the FIPRESCI-India Grand Prix 2019 award.

Directed by Abhishek Shah, the Gujarati film whose all 13 female actors won the Best Actress award at the National Awards, was voted as the best film among the 20 nominated feature films from across India by the members of FIPRESCI-India, the India Chapter of the International Film Critics’ Federation, or the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique.

An announcement by FIPRESCI-India said that ‘Hellaro’ received the maximum votes from the members of the organization, leaving behind several acclaimed films, including Bhaskar Hazarika’s ‘Aamis/Ravening’ (Assamese), Kislay Gonzalvez’s ‘Aise Hee/Just Like That’ (Hindi), Prateek Vats’ ‘Eeb Allay Ooo’ (Hindi) and Sanal Kumar Sasidharan’s ‘Chola’ (Malayalam) and ‘Super Deluxe’ (Tamil) by Thiagarajan Kumararaja.

Among other notable nominations were ‘Bombay Rose’ (Bambaiyya) by Gitanjali Rao, ‘Gamak Ghar’ (Maithili) by Achal Mishra, ‘Iewduh/Market’ (Khasi) by Pradip Kurbah, ‘Jallikattu’ (Malayalam) by Lijo Jose Pellissery and ‘Kumbalangi Nights’ (Malayalam) by Madhu C Narayanan.

The other nominated films were Anubhav Sinha’s ‘Article 15’ (Hindi), ‘Aanandi Gopal’ (Marathi) by Sameer Vidwans, ‘Aani Maani’ (Hindi) by Fahim Irshaad, ‘Binisutoy/ Without Strings’ (Bengali) by Atanu Ghosh, ‘Biriyani/ Flavours of Flesh’ (Malayalam) by Sajin Babu, ‘Ghawre Bairey Aaj/ The Home and The World Today’ (Bengali) by Aparna Sen,  ‘Maadathy/ An Unfairy Tale’ (Tamil) Leena Manimekalai, ‘Run Kalyani’ (Malayalam) by Geetha J and ‘Veyilmarangal/ Trees Under the Sun’ (Malayalam) by Bijukumar Damodaran.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About Utpal Borpujari


Utpal Borpujari is a National Film Award winning filmmaker and film critic. He won national award for his debut feature film 'Ishu'.


Weightlifting sensation Jeremy Lalrinnunga joins IOS Sports

FTII student film in Cannes official Cinéfondation Selection