Representational photo of Electronic Voting Machine

After day-long high voltage drama, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) comprising BJP and JD (U) among others, emerged victorious in Bihar assembly elections late night on November 10.

While during the day it appeared that NDA was all set to form the government, a moment came late evening which created the impression that RJD-led Grand Alliance would form the government in the state.

Final results ultimately went in favour of NDA winning 125 seats, just three seats more than the magic figure of 122 while Grand Alliance could bag only 110 seats in Bihar assembly elections.

As per the final results, NDA won 125 seats, Grand Alliance won 110 seats while others got 8 seats.

In NDA, JD (U) won 43 seats, BJP won 74 seats, HAM and VIP won 4 seats each.

In Grand Alliance, RJD won 75, Congress 19, CPI(ML) 12, CPI 02 and CPI(M) won 2 seats.

Among others, AIMIM won 5 seats, BSP and LJP won one seat each while one Independent candidate also emerged victorious.

With LJP damaging the prospects of JD(U) heavily, NDA could manage only 125 seats, just three more than magic figure of 122 required to form the government in total strength 243 members in Bihar assembly.

JD(U), which remained dominant in NDA for the last 15 years since 2005 when it was voted to power, got reduced to 43 seats while BJP managed to improve its tally from 53 to 74.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]