Voting in Manipur bypolls wearing PPE

Voting for four assembly constituencies in Manipur conducted on November 7 amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Fates of the 11 candidates who were contesting for the four assembly seats of Saitu, Wangjing-Tentha, Lilong and Wangoi have been sealed in EVMs.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

CEO PK Singh said that some COVID-19 patients were allowed to cast votes by wearing PPE suits.

The poll process started slowly as special arrangements were made in view of the pandemic. Voting picked up slowly and by noon it was more than 40 per cent.

According to an official report received at 7 pm on November 7, the overall poll percentage was 92.54 per cent.

There was delay in some polling stations as EVMs were not working.

The byelection was by and large peaceful except for some incidents of minor confrontation between rival groups. CEO PK Singh was quoted as saying by The Sangai Express that there was no major incident of violence or disturbance during the by-polls and no major complaint has been received so far.

Saitu Congress candidate Lamtinthang Haokip has condemned the arrest of election chief agent of Congress candidate and secretary of INC candidate on November 7. He said there were large numbers of complaints of booth capturing and threatening Congress workers in Saitu.

ALSO READ:  NIA raids PFI Manipur unit office and key functionaries houses simultaneously

Former Congress MLA and now BJP candidate Ngamthang Haokip was standing against Lamtinthang Haokip of Congress in Saitu.

In Wangoi, former Congress MLA Oinam Lukhoi Singh, now a BJP candidate, was fighting against Salam Joy Singh of Indian National Congress and Khuraijam Loken Singh of National People’s Party (NPP).

Lilong had three candidates. Md Azizul Haque Khan of Congress was up against former Congress MLA, Mohd Abdul Nasir (Independent) and Y Antas Khan (Independent).

In Wangjing Tentha, Moirangthem Hemanta Singh of Congress was contesting against S Manaobi (Independent) and former Congress MLA Paonam Brojen Singh now a BJP candidate.

Counting of votes will be held on November 10.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Union minister Shekhawat dedicates water supply project at Namsai

Media boycotts Tripura chief minister Biplab Deb for ‘instigating criminals’