Over 5000 Congress, AIUDF members join BJP in Assam

Representative Image

Ahead of assembly elections in Assam, more than 5,000 members from Congress and AIUDF have joined the BJP in the party’s membership drive in the past few months, BJP officials said on January 19.

The saffron party has been conducting a membership drive in these various constituencies across the states to strengthen its political base, the party said.


Three-time BPF MLA Banendra Kumar Mushary, who represented the Gauripur constituency from 1996 to 2016, also joined the Bharatiya Janata Party on January 18 during an induction ceremony in Gauripur.

BPF has had a stronghold in the Gauripur constituency, but AIUDF captured the seat with its candidate Nijanur Rahman defeating Mushary in the 2016 assembly elections.

Of the three assembly seats under the Dhubri election district at present, the Bharatiya Janata Party has a MLA in Golakganj while Dhubri and Gauripur constituencies have been occupied by AIUDF.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


ECI team in Assam to review poll preparedness

Assam CM distributes Rs 4 lakh each to 1279 surrendered NDFB militants