Assam election campaign

Congress-led grand alliance in Assam has finalised its seat agreement among the allies including the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and the Left parties.

According to sources, while Badruddin Ajmal-led All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) has been given 21 seats, newly-floated Anchalik Gana Morcha (AGM) will contest in two seats.

Under the seat-sharing agreement, CPI (M) will be fielding candidates in two seats, the CPI and CPI (ML) will contest in one seat each. The Congress is expected to contest in the rest of the 99 seats.

The 21 constituencies where the AIUDF will field candidates are Jamunamukh, Bilasipara West, Mankachar, Sonai, Dhubri, Jania, Sarukhetri, Abhayapuri South, Bhabanipur, Dhing, Dalgaon, Naoboicha, Bilasipara East, Katlichera, Goalpara West, Jaleswar, Gauripur, South Karimganj, Badarpur, Algapur and Hailakandi.

Rajya Sabha MP Ajit Kumar Bhuyan-led AGM is likely to contest from Dispur and Batadraba constituencies.

The CPI (M) will field candidates in Sarbhog and Rangia constituencies while the CPI and CPI (ML) will contest from Morigaon and Bihali seats respectively.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Locals celebrate as Sarbananda Sonowal to contest from Majuli once again

Congress slams fake news on ‘resignation of Sushmita Dev’