The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on March 5 declared a list of 70 candidates contesting the Assam assembly elections. As many as 11 sitting MLAs have been denied tickets.

Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest from the Majuli assembly constituency while cabinet minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will contest from Jalukbari. Assam party president Ranjeet Dass will contest from Pathacharkuchi constituency.

The BJP list included candidates for the first and second phase of polling in Assam which will be held on March 27 and April 1.

The party will release another list for the third phase of polling which will be held on April 6. They will contest on 91 seats out of the 126 assembly constituencies.

AGP to contest in 26 seats, UPPL 8

Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) will contest on 26 assembly constituencies in the Assam assembly elections while the United People’s Party Liberal will contest on eight seats.

Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, BJP general secretary Arun Singh, Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, leaders of the AGP and UPPL and other BJP leaders were present at a press conference in New Delhi announcing the seat-sharing agreement.

1 – The News Mill 2 – The News Mill 3 – The News Mill 4 – The News Mill

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]