File photo: Siddhartha Bhattacharya

Assam minister Siddhartha Bhattacharya will be the BJP candidate from the prestigious Gauhati East constituency, which goes to polls on April 6 in the third and final phase of elections in Assam.

The Bharatiya Janata Party on March 14 released a list of 17 candidates who will contest the Assam elections. Bhattacharjee, who is a sitting MLA from the constituency, managed to get the party ticket.

Earlier, speculations were rife that the minister may not get the nod as there were many other candidates vying for the party ticket from the Gauhati East constituency.

From the Dispur constituency, BJP has named Atul Bora while minister Chandramohan Patowary will contest from Dharmapur constituency.

BJP assam list phase 3 – The News Mill

BJP assam list phase 3 1 – The News Mill

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Congress releases ‘chargesheet’ against BJP govt in Assam

Congress forged alliance with ‘anti-India forces’, alleges Amit Shah in Assam