Representational photo

The fate of 345 candidates in 39 seats will be decided on April 1 during the second phase of the Assam assembly elections. The campaign for these constituencies has already come to an end on March 30.

Some of the major names in the fray during this phase are state forest minister Parimal Suklabaidya (Dholai), junior health minister Pijush Hazarika (Jagiroad), irrigation minister Bhabesh Kalita (Rangiya),  Sum Ronghang (Diphu), and Rihon Daimary (Udalguri), besides deputy speaker Aminul Haque Laskar (Sonai), and Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary (Panery).

Former congress minister Gautam Roy is contesting on a BJP ticket from Katigora this time.

Apart from them, former congress minister Siddeque Ahmed (Karimganj South), sitting congress MLA Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha (Karimganj North), sitting AIUDF MLAs Suzamuddin Laskar (Katlicherra) and Nizamuddin Choudhury (Algapur) are also contesting.

AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal’s brother Sirajuddin Ajmal, a former MP and MLA, is also contesting in the second phase from Jamunamukh while former congress spokesperson Durga Das Boro is contesting as a BPF candidate from Kalaigaon.

The ruling BJP is contesting in 34 seats and its allies, the AGP in six and the UPPL in three, with friendly contests in four constituencies – two each with the AGP and the UPPL.

The Congress is contesting in 27, its partners the AIUDF in eight and BPF in four.

The newly formed Assam Jatiya Parishad is contesting in 17 seats while 174 independents are also in the fray.

A total electorate of 73,44,631, including 37,34,537 males, 36,09,959 females and 135 of the third gender, are eligible to exercise their franchise in 10,592 polling stations in the second phase.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Nalbari wins JK Baruah cricket tournament

Order on Myanmar refugees withdrawn by Manipur govt