With a view to arrest surging COVID-19 cases in the state through continuous monitoring of the situation and ensuring required guidance to district administrations, Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma assigned different districts to the ministers of his cabinet on May 12.

The decision to assign particular districts to the ministers was taken at the first cabinet meet held in Guwahati on May 11.

According to a government order which comes into force with immediate effect, chief minister Sarma will monitor COVID-19 situation in Majuli district. P&RD minister Ranjit Kumar Dass has been assigned Barpeta, Bajali and Bongaigaon, while COVID-19 situation at Jorhat and Golaghat will be monitored by agriculture minister Atul Bora.

The ministers will monitor the trend in the number of COVID-19 cases and compliance of COVID related restrictions in the districts assigned to them. “They will also assess the adequacy of healthcare facilities to meet the present and anticipated number of COVID cases besides guiding and supporting the district administration by coordinating with the health & family welfare and other departments. The ministers will keep the chief minister and health & family welfare minister informed about the situation on a regular basis,” a statement from the CMO said.

The order said mentioned that Kokrajhar, Chirang and Baksa districts will be monitored by Assam handloom & textiles minister Urkhao Gwra Brahma while the work for Nalbari, Kamrup and Udalguri districts have been given to Assam industries & commerce minister Chandra Mohan Patowary.

Environment & forests minister Parimal Shuklabaidya has been given the responsibility for Cachar, Hailakandi and Karimganj districts.

Health and family welfare minister Keshab Mahanta has taken the responsibility of Nagaon and Hojai districts. Dhemaji and Lakhimpur will be monitored by education minister Ranuj Pegu while Sonitpur, Darrang and Biswanath districts will be monitored by urban development minister Ashok Singhal.

West Karbi Anglong, Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao went to minister of revenue & disaster management Jogen Mohan while the COVID-19 situation at Tinsukia and Dibrugarh will be monitored by Assam tea tribes welfare minister Sanjay Kishan.

Finance minister Ajanta Neog will monitor Dhubri and Lakhimpur. Morigaon and Goalpara will be under water resources minister Pijush Hazarika while power minister Bimal Bora was entrusted with the responsibility for Sivasagar and Charaideo.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


CM Sarma attends funeral of Homen Borgohain at Nabagraha crematorium

Assam Police to file ‘attempt to murder’ case against SOP violators: DGP