File photo: Himanta Biswa Sarma

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Himanta Biswa Sarma will take oath as the 15th chief minister of Assam on May 10.

Raj Bhavan officials said that Assam governor Jagdish Mukhi would administer the oath of office to the chief minister-designate Himanta Biswa Sarma on May 10 noon at the Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra in Guwahati.

Different official sources said that besides Sarma, nine other ministers are likely to take oath on May 10.

According to the Raj Bhavan officials, Union minister of agriculture and rural development Narendra Singh Tomar, outgoing chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal and a host of central and state leaders, dignitaries and top officials would attend the swearing-in ceremony.

The opposition Congress and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) conveyed their greetings to Sarma and hoped that Assam would become one of the most developed states of the country under his tenure.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance has returned to power in Assam for a second consecutive term after winning the recently held three-phase elections to the 126-member state Assembly.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Assam tea estates witness steep spike in COVID-19 cases

19th IFFLA unveils line-up accessible to audiences in India