BJP national president JP Nadda

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on June 26 announced new state unit presidents for Assam and Manipur.

BJP national chief JP Nadda appointed Bhabesh Kalita and Sharda Devi as presidents of its Assam and Manipur units respectively.

Bharatiya Janata Party national general secretary and headquarters in-charge Arun Singh said in a statement that the appointment of Kalita and Devi made by party president Nadda came into immediate effect.

Bhabesh Kalita, a sitting MLA in the Assam assembly, will replace Ranjeet Kumar Dass, who became a minister in the newly-formed Himanta Biswa Sarma government in state.

The saffron party won the recently held Assam assembly polls for the second consecutive term.

Meanwhile, the BJP has also named its Manipur unit head, which will go to polls next year.

Devi will succeed Saikhom Tikendra Singh, who died of COVID-19 last month.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


FIR against executive member of Tangla Municipal Board for killing of egrets

CM conspiring to keep me behind bars, claims Akhil Gogoi