With two Cabinet-rank ministers and three ministers of state (MoS), Northeast now holds a strong representation in the prime minister Narendra Modi-led government.

Former Assam chief minister, Sarbananda Sonowal on July 7 took oath as a Union Cabinet minister. While he currently represents Majuli in the state assembly, Sonowal is expected to become a Rajya Sabha member from the state.

Minister of state for youth affairs and sports, Kiren Rijiju, who represents Arunachal West constituency in the Lok Sabha, has be given a ‘promotion’ in the Union council of ministers. Rijiju is elevated as a Union Cabinet minister on July 7.

Inner Manipur MP Rajkumar Ranjan Singh and Tripura West MP Pratima Bhoumik also took oath as ministers of state on July 7.

Northeast Ministers – The News Mill

Other than the ones who took oath on July 7, the Union council of ministers already have Rameshwar Teli from Assam as minister of state for food processing industries.

The addition of the two Cabinet and two MoS in the Union council of ministers, along with MoS Rameshwar Teli, makes it five ministers from the Northeast states.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Sonowal gets rewarded for performance, takes oath as Union Cabinet minister

Protest on campus: IIT Guwahati takes undertaking from PhD scholar