Senior BJP leader La Ganesan sworn in as governor of Manipur

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader from Tamil Nadu, La Ganesan, was sworn in as the 17th governor of Manipur at a ceremony held on August 27 at the Durbar Hall of Raj Bhavan in Imphal.

Chief Justice of the High Court of Manipur, PV Sanjay Kumar, administered the oath of office and secrecy to La Ganesan.

The ceremony was attended by chief minister N Biren Singh, speaker, deputy speaker, the council of ministers and the MLAs.

After the swearing-in-ceremony, the governor also inspected a guard of honour.

Welcoming the new governor, chief minister N Biren Singh said: “Known for his patriotism, honesty, simplicity and excellent oratory, Manipur is privileged to have Shri. La Ganesan as the 17th Governor of Manipur.”

Ganesan had arrived in Imphal on August 26 and was accorded a warm welcome. He took over the charge after the end of the term of Najma Heptulla.

Ganesan, a former Member of Parliament in Rajya Sabha, has also served as general secretary of the Tamil Nadu unit of BJP besides being a pracharak at the RSS.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman on two-day visit to Tripura

Mizoram performs relatively well in implementation of NEC projects: Official