Amid tight security and COVID-19 protocols, voting for byelections in nine assembly constituencies in three Northeast states ended on October 30. Elections were held in five constituencies in Assam, three in Meghalaya and one in Mizoram.

The byelection for one seat in Nagaland was won uncontested by the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate.

According to the Election Commission, the voter turnout in Assam was 69.75%, in Meghalaya was 78.62% and in Mizoram it was 78.49% till 5 pm on October 30.

In Assam, people have queued up at polling booths to cast their franchise in the byelections for five assembly constituencies from 7 am.

Voting was held at 1,176 polling stations, including 285 in Gossaigaon, 213 in Bhabanipur, 322 in Tamulpur, 183 in Mariani and 173 in Thowra constituencies.

Nearly 7.97 lakh voters were eligible to cast their vote and decide the fate of 31 candidates in five seats in Assam.

Similarly, voting concluded in the polling booths in Mawphlang, Mawryngkneng, Rajabala seats in Meghalaya and Tuirial seat in Mizoram.

Votes will be counted on November 2.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About Hemanta Kr Nath


Hemanta Kumar Nath is a Guwahati-based journalist. He had worked with India Blooms News Service (IBNS), Meghalaya Times, Global News Network among others.


Mumbai cruise drugs case: Aryan Khan walks out of jail

CM Sarma visits proposed site of Assam Bhawan at Bengaluru