Mirang, Meghalaya | Photo courtesy: Instagram/elvestthabah

The Meghalaya cabinet on November 5 gave formal approval to the creation of Eastern West Khasi Hills district, deputy chief minister Prestone Tynsong said.

Eastern West Khasi Hills will be Meghalaya’s 12 district.

He said the Mairang civil sub division will be the district headquarters of Eastern West Khasi Hills district.

Chief minister Conrad Sangma will inaugurate the new district on November 10.

“Proposal to upgrade the Mairang Civil Sub-Division to a full-fledged district has been approved by the Cabinet today. Happy to announce that the new district will be named Eastern West Khasi Hills and will be inaugurated on 10th Nov 2021,” CM Sangma tweeted.

Tynsong said that the government has asked the department concerned to work out all details and this will be reflected in the state budget next year.

When asked, Tynsong said the creation of a new district will ensure administration is closer to the people besides implementation of different schemes in different districts will also be more effective.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Mother’s Recipe ties up with Paytm for cashback offer

Seven ethanol plants to be set up in Assam with an investment of Rs 1500-2000 crore