18 Indian referees selected in FIFA list

Ranjita Devi Tekcham (left) and Riiohlang Dhar | Photo courtesy: AIFF

Altogether 18 Indian referees have been selected in the FIFA Refereeing International list for 2022, the All India Football Federation (AIFF) announced on December 23.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

Out of them, three are from the northeast states. Women referee Ranjita Devi Tekcham and men assistant referee Kennedy Sapam are from Manipur while women assistant referee Riiohlang Dhar hails from Meghalaya.

As per AIFF, the extensive list includes officials who are qualified to be referees and assistant referees.

Notably, members of the list are eligible to officiate at the international level. The selection for the annual list is made through the nominations sent by FIFA member countries and the officials are required to clear a fitness test and medical examination.

Out of the selected 18 Indians, four are women (two referees and two assistant referees), and 14 are men (six referees and eight assistant referees).

List of selected Indian officials:

Men referees: Tejas Nagvenkar, Srikrishna Coimbatore Ramaswamy, Rowan Arumughan, Crystal John, Pranjal Banerjee, Venkatesh Ramachandran.

Men assistant referees: Sumanta Dutta, Antony Abraham, Tony Joseph Louis, Vairamuthu Parasuraman, Samar Pal, Kennedy Sapam, Arun Sasidharan Pillai, Asit Kumar Sarkar.

Women referees: Ranjita Devi Tekcham, Kanika Barman.

Women assistant referees: Uvena Fernandes, Riiohlang Dhar.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


RBI extends card tokenisation deadline till June 30, 2022

Focus on mental health as Indian footballers prepare for AFC Women’s Asian Cup