Representational Image

The Nagaland cabinet on December 18 accepted the proposal to create three new districts in the state – Tseminyu, Chumoukedima and Niuland, taking the total number districts of this hilly state to 15.

According to official sources, the decision was made in the cabinet meeting held on December 18 which was chaired by chief minister Neiphiu Rio.

While the demand for Tseminyu district (under Kohima district) and to some extent Niuland, were long pending, the decision also comes amid a series of recent rallies launched by the Rengma community to press for a separate Tseminyu district.

However, the decision to accord Chumoukedima the status of a district has come as a surprise to many.

In the 2011 Census, Chumoukedima had the highest number of villages at 53 while Niuland had 66 villages (both are under Dimapur district), however, more villages have come up since the census.

In the Tseminyu circle under Kohima there are 32 villages.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Nagaland ENPO warns underground cadres against creating trouble

Trains with Vistadome between Guwahati-Naharlagun and Naharlagun-Tinsukia