Thokchom Satyabrata Singh unanimously elected speaker of Manipur assembly

BJP legislator Thokchom Satyabrata Singh has been unanimously elected as the speaker of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly on March 24.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

An official source said that till the last hour of submission of nomination for the election, no other member except Satyabrata Singh came up as a contestant for the post.

Chief minister N Biren Singh congratulated the newly-elected speaker of the Manipur legislative assembly.

An order of the Manipur governor La Ganesan, passed on March 22, had fixed March 24 at 9 am as the date and time for holding election to the office of the speaker of the assembly.

Satyabrata Singh was re-elected from Yaiskul assembly constituency on the BJP ticket in the recently concluded two-phase elections to the state assembly.

He was the minister of consumer affairs, food and public distribution (CAF&PD) in the previous BJP-led coalition government.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


CISF forces 80-year-old wheelchair-bound woman to strip at Guwahati airport

Security forces apprehend NSCN-K militant in Manipur’s Noney