Guwahati Open junior tennis tourney from March 28

Representative image | Courtesy: Unspalsh

The Guwahati Lawn Tennis Association (GLTA) will organise the fifth edition of the Guwahati Open Junior Tennis Championship 2022 at the RG Baruah Sports Complex, Nehru Stadium in Guwahati from March 28 to April 1.

The championship will be held for both boys and girls singles – under 12 and 14 age categories respectively.

All the winners will be awarded cash prizes. The championship will carry total prize money of Rs 1,92,000.

In the boys and girls singles – under 18 years category, the champion will receive Rs 10,000 while the runner-up will receive Rs 7,000. In the under 14 years category, the winner will receive Rs 7,000 and the runner-up will get Rs 6,000 while in the under 12 years category, the winner will be awarded Rs 6,000 and the runner-up will receive Rs 5,000 respectively.

Cash scholarship will be awarded to all the players from the quarterfinal stage in all the categories.

The signing-in will be held on March 27 from 2 pm to 6 pm. Participants who sign in will be considered for the draws.

The championship will feature more than 200 players from all over the region.

For smooth conduct of the championship, an organising committee has been formed with Riniki Bhuyan Sharma, Anirban Das, Kishore Jayanta Madhab as advisors, Kalyan Kumar Das as chairman, Hrishikesh Bijoy Das, Raja Kakati as vice-chairman, Madhuryya Hazarika as tournament director, Bhaskar Sarma as organising secretary, Dilip Pathak as treasurer, Rajesh Barua as chief referee, Sahidul Islam as an assistant referee and Rituraj Bhagawati, Bikash Bawri, Dhiraj Dutta, Bhaskar Barman, Debangshu Bora and Ajoy Das as members.

Interested participants may send their entries to the organising secretary.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Rs 1,849 crore deficit budget tabled by Meghalaya chief minister

Victory for BJP in Manipur with 32 seats