S Phangnon Konyak

BJP candidate S Phangnon Konyak was declared unopposed for the lone seat of Nagaland in the Rajya Sabha on March 24.

Konyak was the sole applicant who put her name up for the position.

After the 3 pm deadline for withdrawing nominations, Nagaland’s returning officer for the biannual election to the council of states, Khruohituonuo Rio, proclaimed Konyak elected.

Nagaland BJP nominee, 44-year-old S Phangnon Konyak, is the incumbent State Mahila Morcha president, Nagaland unit, hailing from Mon district.

Konyak created history in Nagaland politics as the first woman member of Rajya Sabha from the state, after she became the second woman to enter any parliament house after Rano M Shazia.

It was in 1977 when Rano Shaiza was elected to the Lok Sabha from Nagaland.

NDPP leader and chief minister Neiphiu Rio had earlier agreed in principle to support a BJP candidate in return for the support extended to the NDPP candidate for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

On the other hand, a senior NPF legislator had recently rebuffed rumours about NPF contemplating setting up its own candidate. The NPF legislators said that since they were now part of the UDA to form an all-party government in Nagaland, the party will likely go by the consensus candidate set up by the NDPP-BJP.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


CM Sangma to discuss HNLC peace talks issue with Amit Shah

NSCN-IM slams Nagaland minister for his remarks on Naga flag and constitution