Voting underway for second phase of polls in Manipur

Manipur polling
Voting underway for second phase of polls in Manipur

Voting for the second and final phase of Manipur assembly election began on March 5.

In the second phase of Manipur polls, a total of 22 assembly constituencies under six electoral districts – 10 in Thoubal, three each in Ukhrul, Senapati, and Tamenglong, two in Chandel, and one in Jiribam are voting on March 5.

A total of 8,38,730 electors including 4,10,020 males, 4,28,679 females and 31 transgenders will exercise their franchise in the second phase of polls, out of which 20,511 are 80+ voters.

There are a total of 4849 PwD electors and 480 Centenarian voters.

There are a total of 1247 polling stations including 12 P3 polling stations and 213 P-2 polling stations. Of them, 223 polling stations will be completely manned by all women polling personnel. Notably, 31- Thoubal AC will be manned by all women polling teams.

A total of 4988 polling personnel are being deployed and all polling personnel have reached their respective polling stations. There will be 39 model polling stations.

According to the chief electoral officer (CEO) of Manipur, voter slips are no longer standalone identity documents, and hence voters shall require to produce one of the 12 identity documents approved by the commission.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]