Representative image

Three BJP candidates in the Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) election are all set to win uncontested as their opponents withdrew their nominations on April 4.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

The BJP candidates in ward no 5, 6 and 22 are all set to win uncontested. However, no official announcement was made till the filing of this report.

A total of eight candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers on April 4 on the last date of withdrawal of nomination for the election.

Voting for the GMC polls will be held on April 22. Counting of votes will be on April 24.

After withdrawal of nomination papers by eight candidates, candidates Sanjay Das (BJP) of ward no 5, Sutapa Sarkar (BJP) of ward no 6 and Smita Roy (BJP) of ward no 22 remained the only candidates in their respective wards.

In ward no 5, three candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers while one candidate each in ward 6, 7, 11, 12 and 22 have withdrawn their nominations.

Avatar photo
About Jassika Poudyel


Jassika Poudyel is a Guwahati-based journalist.


Cost of apartment flats in Assam to increase, says real estate developers’ association

Revival of Congress is essential for democracy: Sonia Gandhi