Tripura CM Manik Saha

Three newly-elected members of the Tripura Legislative Assembly took oath of office as legislators on June 28. However, Tripura chief minister Manik Saha, who was elected from Bardowali in the recently concluded bypolls in the state, was not administered the oath ‘due to technical reasons’.

The MLAs – two from the BJP and one from the Congress – were administered the oath of office by speaker Ratan Chakraborty.

Speaking about chief minister Saha, the speaker said: “Due to some technical reasons, the chief minister didn’t take the oath today. But he can be administered the oath of office as an MLA any day in the next six months. Since Saha is a member of the Rajya Sabha, he has to decide which post he wishes to retain within 14 days of his election. Till now no decision has been communicated to us.”

The speaker pointed out that before the upcoming presidential election, Saha has to spell out his stand and accordingly his vote would be counted.

The value of the vote of an MLA and an MP is different in the presidential election.

Two newly-elected BJP lawmakers – Malina Debnath from Jubarajnagar and Swapna Das from Surma constituencies – took oath along with the Congress winner from Agartala constituency Sudip Roybarman.

The four, including chief minister Manik Saha, were elected in bypolls held on June 23. The results were declared on June 26.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Ad hoc school teachers in Meghalaya begin ‘indefinite sit-in protest’

Nirmala Sitharaman to visit Nagaland on July 4-5