Sikkim Legislative Assembly | File photo

Arun Kumar Upreti has been elected as the new speaker of the Sikkim Legislative Assembly.

Legislator from the Arithang constituency, Upreti secured 30 votes from 31 legislators in attendance, except Pawan Kumar Chamling, who was marked absent.

Following the resignation of former speaker LB Das on August 16, Upreti is has become the 11th speaker of the state legislative assembly.

Sikkim Legislative Assembly has started its two-day session on August 22.

Chief minister PS Tamang introduced the first supplementary demands of grants for Rs 35972.27 lakh to be considered on August 23.

Twelve bills, including amendment bills have been introduced. The bills would be discussed on August 23.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]