Northeast cricketers in Duleep Trophy

Three cricketers from the Northeast have been included in the East Zone team for the Duleep Trophy. Assam’s Riyan Parag and Mukhtar Hussain while Manisankar Murasingh of Tripura have been included in the team which will be led by Bengal’s Manoj Tiwari.

The Duleep Trophy will kickstart India’s domestic season and is scheduled to begin on September 8. It will be played in an inter-zonal format for the first time since 2014/15. Suspended the following year, it resumed in 2016/17 and was played in a three-team format. The tournament will be held in Tamil Nadu, with the first match in Chennai and the final in Coimbatore.

Hard-hitting batter Riyan Parag who also bowls occasional leg break has been a part of Rajasthan Royals for the last several seasons. On the other hand, 23-year-old Mukhtar Hussain is a fast bowler who has been spearheading Assam’s bowling attack for several seasons.

Manisankar Murasingh from Tripura is an all-rounder.

Players of East Zone: Manoj Tiwary (captain) CAB, Virat Singh (vice-captain) JSCA, Nazim Siddique JSCA, Sudip Kumar Gharami CAB, Shantanu Mishra OCA, Anustup Mazumdar CAB, Riyan Parag ACA, Kumar Kushagra JSCA, Abishek Porel CAB, Shabaz Ahmed CAB, Shahbaz Nadeem JSCA, Ishan Porel CAB, Akash Deep CAB, Mukhtar Hussain ACA, Mani Sankar Mura Singh TCA.

Stand-bye: Abhijeet Saket BCA, Rajesh Mohanty OCA, Sayan Shekhar Mondal CAB, Anukul Roy JSCA.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Meghalaya CM questions opposition TMC on coal mining

Adolf Hitler joins Trinamool Congress in Meghalaya