Virat Kohli celebrates his century during the Asia Cup Super Four match between India and Afghanistan

Virat Kohli on September 8 scored the highest individual score by an Indian player in T20 international cricket.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

The star Indian batter accomplished this landmark during the Super Four clash against Afghanistan at the ongoing Asia Cup 2022.

Virat Kohli finally completed his much-anticipated 71st century. He smashed an unbeaten 122 in just 61 balls with 12 balls and six sixes.

He has overtaken the score of 118 posted by Rohit Sharma against Sri Lanka in 2017. It is followed by 117 by Suryakumar Yadav against England in 2022, Rohit Sharma’s 111 not out against West Indies in 2018 and an unbeaten 110 by KL Rahul against West Indies in 2016.

Coming to the match, star Indian batter Virat Kohli completed his much-anticipated 71st international century and powered India to a massive 212/2 in their 20 overs during their last Super Four clash against Afghanistan at the ongoing Asia Cup 2022 on September 8.

Put to bat first by Afghanistan, openers KL Rahul and Virat Kohli got team India off to a great start.

Virat Kohli looked in really good touch and hit spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman for two fours and a six in the sixth over. At the end of six overs and the powerplay, India stood at 52/0, with Virat (25*) and Rahul (26*) unbeaten.

ALSO READ:  FIFA World Cup 2022: Saudi Arabia stun Argentina 2-1

Virat Kohli and KL continued their domination over Afghanistan, even after the powerplay. The duo kept the scoreboard running at a good speed. At the end of 10 overs, India stood at 87/0, with KL Rahul (42*) and Virat Kohli (44*).

Medium-pacer Fareed Malik ended the 119-run stand between the duo in the 13th over, dismissing Rahul for 62 off 41 balls after the batter was caught by Najibullah Zadran at long-on.

Suryakumar Yadav was next and he started his innings with a six on the very first ball, but Fareed got his wicket on the very next ball.

Rishabh Pant was up on the crease. He continued to tick the scoreboard with Virat and took India into the final five without further damage. At the end of 15 overs, India was at 134/2, with Pant (6*) and Virat (59*).

With two overs to go, Pant-Virat brought up their 50-run stand. Virat also entered into the 90s. Finally, he completed his much-anticipated 71st international century and his first in T20Is.

India finished its innings at 212/2, with Virat Kohli (122*) and Rishabh Pant (20*). Fareed Malik took 2/57 for Afghanistan. Virat finally completed his much-anticipated 71st century. He smashed an unbeaten 122 in just 61 balls with 12 balls and six sixes.

ALSO READ:  Goalkeepers couldn't get near Ruud Van Nistelrooy: Wayne Rooney

Chasing 213, Afghanistan was off to a horrendous start as pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar sent back openers Hazratullah Zazai and Rahmanullah Gurbaz for ducks in the first over itself.

Ibrahim Zadran was next up on the crease and tried to hold one end steady. However, Karim Janat (2) and Najibullah Zadran (0) became Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s next victims and captain Mohammad Nabi was trapped lbw by Arshdeep Singh.

Afghanistan was left reeling at 21/5 in six overs. Azmatullah Omarzai was the next to be dismissed by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who gained a five-wicket haul, finishing with the best bowling figures of his career with five wickets for four runs in four overs, which also included a maiden. Dinesh Karthik took a great catch at the covers.

The duo of Ibrahim and Rashid Khan joined hands and helped their team cross the 50-run mark. Rashid was dismissed by Deepak Hooda’s spin for just 15 after being caught by Axar Patel at deep midwicket. Afghanistan was at 54/7 after this 33-run stand broke.

Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin struck for Team India and gave them their eight-wicket by dislodging Mujeeb ur Rahman’s stumps when he was at 18.

Fareed Malik was the next one on the crease. He along with Zadran helped Afghanistan finish their innings at 111/8 without any further damage. Zadran also brought his half-century and scored an unbeaten 64* off 59 balls.

ALSO READ:  We're now seeing consistency in what we do: Mumbai City FC head coach Buckingham

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the leading bowler for India with 5/4. Aswhin, Arshdeep and Hooda got one each and India finished their campaign on a winning note by 101 runs.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


With Queen Elizabeth II’s death in Scotland, ‘Operation Unicorn’ is underway

Rajpath was symbol of slavery, Kartavya Path will consign ‘Kingsway’ to history: PM Modi