13 from Northeast named for Padma awards

Padma Awards
13 from Northeast named for Padma awards

Altogether 13 personalities from the northeastern states have been named for Padma Awards on the eve of Republic Day. Three from Assam, two each from Manipur, Tripura and Nagaland, and one each from Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Meghalaya have been named for the Padma Awards.

Hemoprova Chutia, Hem Chandra Goswami (art) and Ramkuiwangbe Jene (social work) are from Assam while K Shanathoiba Sharma (sports) and Thounaojam Chaoba Singh (public affairs) are from Manipur.

Narendra Chandra Debbarma (posthumous in public affairs) and Bikram Bahadur Jamatia (social work) are from Tripura while Neihunuo and Sorhie Moa Subong (both art) are from Nagaland. All 13 personalities have been named for Padma Shri.

The others are KC Runremsangi (art, Mizoram), Karma Wangchu (posthumous in social work, Arunachal Pradesh) and Risingbor Kurkalang (art, Meghalaya).

“Heartiest congratulations to Padma Shri awardees from Assam – Smt Hemoprova Chutia (Art), Shri Hem Chandra Goswami (Art) and Shri Ramkuiwangbe Jene (Social Work). You have made significant contributions in your respective fields and we are truly proud of you at this moment,” tweeted Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

“A proud moment for Manipur as veteran politician, Shri Thounaojam Chaoba Singh & Thang Ta guru, Shri K Sanathoiba Sharma have been named as recipients of the prestigious Padma Shri award. I heartily congratulate both distinguished individuals on their honourable achievements,” said Manipur chief minister Biren Singh wrote on Twitter.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through editor@thenewsmill.com


Republic Day 2023: Marching contingents at Kartavya Path showcase India’s military might

Telangana Governor felicitates ‘Naatu Naatu’ fame duo MM Keeravani and Chandrabose at Republic Day function

Exit mobile version