225 nominations filed for Nagaland polls

Nagaland election
Representative image

On the last date of filing nomination papers for the 14th Nagaland legislative assembly, which concluded on February 7, altogether 225 nomination papers were submitted from 13 political parties, Independents and ‘stand-by’ candidates.

Official sources said that a total of 225 nomination papers were submitted for the 60 assembly constituencies throughout the state, however, the names of the candidates and their political parties are still awaited at the Nagaland chief electoral officer’s office.

Sources said that according to information available till February 8 morning Mon has reached the top with the highest number of nomination papers numbering 39, of them five were stand-by candidates, followed by Mokokchung with 32 nomination papers, some other district headquarters are awaited. There are altogether 25 independent candidates who filed nomination papers.

The political parties are the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and BJP, who filed their candidates to 40 and 20 seats respectively, the Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee, which has no representative in the present assembly, fielded 25 candidates, while other parties are Naga People’s Front fielded 22; Lok Janashakti Party (Ram Vilas) fielded 17; National Peoples Party fielded 12; Nationalist Congress Party fielded 11; Republican Party of India (Athawale) fielded 8, Janata Dal (United) fielded 8, Rashtriya Janata Dal fielded 4; Rising People’s Party fielded one and the CPI fielded in one constituency.

According to the poll schedule of the 14th Nagaland legislative assembly, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on February 8 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 10 and the state will go for polling on February 27.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


ED arrests Punjab bizman Gautam Malhotra in Delhi excise policy case

Hardik Pandya moves to No. 2 position in ICC T20I All-Rounder Rankings