Neiphiu Rio sworn in as Nagaland CM, leads 12-member cabinet

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was on March 7 sworn in as Nagaland chief minister for the fifth time along with 11 other cabinet ministers.

Governor La Ganesan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Rio at a programme at the Raj Bhavan in Kohima in the presence of prime minister Narendra Modi and other senior BJP leaders.

Rio’s cabinet includes two deputy chief ministers – TR Zeliang and Y Patton.

Rio will be leading an all-party government as all the other parties have given him letters of support.

The NDPP and the BJP fought the elections together. While the NDPP bagged 25 seats, the BJP got 12 in the 60-member Nagaland assembly.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]