Conrad Sangma took oath as chief minister of Meghalaya

National People’s Party (NPP) chief Conrad Sangma on March 7 took oath as the chief minister of Meghalaya for the second consecutive term.

Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar took oath as deputy chief ministers of Meghalaya, in Shillong.

Abu Taher Mondal, Kyrmen Shylla, Marcuise N Marak and Rakkam A Sangma also took oath as ministers in the new NPP-led Meghalaya government.

Other ministers also include Alexander Laloo Hek, Ampareen Lyngdoh, Paul Lyngdoh, Comingone Ymbon and Shakliar Warjri.

Meghalaya governor Phagu Chauhan administered the oath to the 12-member council of ministers.

In Meghalaya, the NPP-led alliance, with the support of 45 MLAs two of the BJP, has staked claim to form the government in the state.

Among the allies, the eight cabinet berths will go to the NPP, two to the United Democratic Party (UDP) and one each for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP).

Conrad Sangma’s NPP won 26 seats in the assembly elections and is forming the government in as the chief minister for a second consecutive term.

Conrad Sangma won from the South Tura constituency with a margin of 5,016 against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Bernard N Marak, as per the data shared by the Election Commission of India on March 2.

United Democratic Party (UDP) bagged 11 seats in the results of assembly polls announced on March 2. Congress won five seats.

Trinamool Congress, which had inducted all Congress MLAs in the previous assembly, also got five seats.

BJP, People’s Democratic Front and Hill State People’s Democratic Party bagged two seats each. Voice of the People Party got four seats.

Two seats were won by independent candidates.

BJP and NPP were partners in the outgoing government but fought the assembly polls separately.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]