ANI Photo | “Double-engine government failed in Manipur,” Congress MP Gogoi durng no-confidence vote

Congress leader Gaurav Gogoi on Tuesday said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi has to accept that his double-engine government in Manipur has failed.
A discussion on the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government began in the Lok Sabha with Gogoi initiating the debate. 
“PM will have to accept that his double-engine government, his government in Manipur has failed. That is why 150 people died in Manipur, around 5000 houses were torched, around 60,000 people are in relief camps and around 6500 FIRs have been registered,” Gogoi said. 
The Congress leader said that the opposition I.N.D.I.A. alliance has brought the no-trust motion for Manipur as the state wants justice.
“The CM of the state, who should have created an atmosphere of talks, of peace and harmony, has taken instigating steps in the past two to three days that have created tension in society,” he said. 
“We are compelled to bring the no-confidence motion. This was never about numbers but about justice for Manipur. I have moved the motion that this House expresses no confidence in the Government. I.N.D.I.A. has brought this motion for Manipur. Manipur wants justice,” Gogoi said.
Stating that the PM had taken a ‘maun vrat’ (vow of silence) to not speak in the Parliament so the opposition was compelled to introduce the motion to “break his silence.”
“Why did he not visit Manipur to date? Why did it take almost 80 days to finally speak on Manipur and when he did speak it was just for 30 seconds? Why has the Chief Minister not been sacked the Manipur CM so far?,” Gogoi asked.
Earlier in the day Congress chief whip K Suresh had said that Rahul Gandhi, who was reinstated as the Lok Sabha MP a day ago will open the debate on the no-confidence motion.
According to sources, a time of 12 hours has been fixed for the discussion. The ruling BJP will get around seven hours to partake in the discussion and around one hour 15 minutes has been allotted for the Congress party.’
YSRCP, Shiv Sena, JDU, BJD, BSP, BRS and LJP have been given a total of 2 hours, which has been divided according to the number of party’s MPs in the House. A time limit of 1 hour 10 minutes has been allotted for other parties and independent MPs.
The debate on the no-confidence motion against the BJP-led government is likely to take place on August 8 and 9 in the Lok Sabha and Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to give a reply on August 10.
Manipur had been on the boil for the last three months after ethnic clashes broke out between two tribal communities Meities and Kukis, when the Manipur High Court asked the state government to consider adding one of the communities to the list of Scheduled Tribes.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.


“This has never happened…”: Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury on Nishikant Dubey’s deleted statements re-uploaded on records

“Did not take sense of House…yet to conclude on Derek O’Brien”: RS Chairman on move for TMC member’s suspension