ANI Photo | State Assembly polls: BJP Central Election Committee meeting concludes, list of candidates likely soon

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Central Election Committee meeting concluded in Delhi on Wednesday with crucial decisions made regarding the upcoming assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.
This significant meeting, held late on Wednesday, saw the participation of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president JP Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, and other members of the Central Election committee.
During the meeting, the committee deliberated on all the seats that the BJP had lost in the previous assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh. Approximately 36 out of 37 seats were discussed, where the BJP had faced defeat in the last legislative polls.
Today’s discussion primarily focused on the 63 seats that the BJP lost in the 2018 elections out of the 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh. Currently, the BJP holds 128 seats in the state assembly, with 102 seats that the party has lost.
Of these, the BJP had already declared candidates for 39 seats in the first list. The remaining 63 seats were thoroughly discussed in the Central Election Committee meeting, and consensus has been reached on candidates for approximately 36 to 37 of them.
Before the pivotal BJP Central Election Committee meeting, the party’s core committee had held meetings in the states for two days to prepare a list of candidates.
It was anticipated that the BJP would finalize candidates for Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh elections in a subsequent list after this meeting.
After the BJP Core Committee, the Central Election Committee adds the final seal of approval to candidate names. Only after this step, the candidates receive their tickets, and the strategy for the upcoming elections is formulated. It’s worth noting that this marks the first time that the BJP has announced its candidates before the announcement of election dates. 
State assembly elections are slated to be held this year in five states. In light of this, the BJP is advancing with a comprehensive strategy. All seats in these electoral states have been categorized into A, B, C, and D.
Category A includes seats where the party has consistently performed well. Category B includes seats with a mixed track record of BJP victories and losses, while Category C represents seats where the party is relatively weaker. In contrast, Category D seats have seen continuous BJP defeats in the last three elections

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.


Special Session to debate Parliament’s 75-year journey on first day, 4 Bills also on agenda

Telangana BJP president Kishan Reddy detained by Hyderabad Police