ANI Photo | Then President Kovind not invited for laying foundation of new Parliament building because he is untouchable: Kharge

Lashing out at the BJP, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge here on Saturday alleged that the then President Ram Nath Kovind was not invited to the foundation laying ceremony of the new Parliament building because he is “untouchable”.
“When the foundation was laid (for the new Parliament building), then President Ram Nath Kovind was not invited. Because he is ‘untouchable’. Had the foundation been laid by an ‘untouchable’, they would have needed to wash it with Gangajal,” Kharge said while addressing a public gathering after laying the foundation stone of the new Congress Bhawan (party office) here.
Former party president Rahul Gandhi along with senior state Congress leadership was also present on the occasion.
Kharge also questioned the BJP for not inviting President Droupadi Murmu to the inauguration of the new Parliament building while inviting many others, including actors.
“(Congress) has people from all communities. BJP doesn’t even let anyone come near. They did not even invite President Droupadi Murmu to the inauguration of the New (Parliament) building… You (BJP) called the people from the cinema industry… Why did you not invite President Murmu?… She is the President, you insulted the President…,” he alleged.
Terming the BJP leaders “liars,” the Congress president further alleged that the BJP brought the women’s reservation bill to woo voters ahead of next year’s Lok Sabha elections.
“They (BJP) keep saying that they support women. They are liars. They tabled the Women’s Reservation Bill at a time when elections are around the corner. They brought it to woo voters. If we come to power in 2024, implementation of the Bill is the first promise that we will deliver on,” the Congress veteran said.
The Women’s Reservation Bill, which provides for 33 per cent reservation for women in the Lok Sabha as well as the state legislative assemblies, cleared its final legislative hurdle at the Rajya Sabha on Thursday with 214 members voting in support and none against.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the new parliament in May amid a boycott by the Opposition which wanted the President to inaugurate instead

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.