ANI Photo | AAP candidate from Ujjain, Vivek Yadav joins Congress again ahead of MP Assembly elections

Vivek Yadav, an Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate from Ujjain re-joined Congress on Tuesday. Yadav quit the grand old party earlier this week after the party did not give him a ticket to contest in the forthcoming assembly polls scheduled to be held next month.
As per reports, Congress candidates from Ujjain North Assembly, Maya Trivedi, Senior Congress leader Randeep Surjewala and Ex-Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath persuaded Yadav to rejoin the Congress ahead of the elections.
Showing dissent after not getting the party ticket, Vicky Yadav earlier quit the Congress and joined the AAP (Aam Aadmi Party). Yadav was seeking a ticket from the Ujjain North assembly constituency for the upcoming poll but the Congress party fielded a woman candidate Maya Rajesh Trivedi from the seat.
Speaking to ANI, Yadav said, “I have worked continuously on the ground level for the last 20-25 years, even after losing the elections, I have worked at the grassroots level. My name was at the top of the survey of the party. I request the senior leaders to swear to Lord Mahakal and tell me that if my name is not on the top, then I am ready to do whatever they say.”
He slammed the candidate whom Congress gave the ticket from the seat saying the party gave the ticket to a “traitor”.”The ticket has been given to a traitor who tried to stop state Congress chief Kamal Nath from becoming the Chief Minister during the 2018 assembly elections. 15 councillors have written against her, she talked about removing the Atrocity Act and a woman belonging to the SC-ST community held a press conference against her. If the Congress party gives a ticket to such a traitor, I am deeply hurt that is why I joined the AAP,” he added.
However, Vivek Yadav has still not been given the ticket from Congress, he joined back the party on the persuasion of other party members.
Madhya Pradesh is scheduled to undergo assembly polls on November 17. Through the polls, the state will elect legislators from 230 Assembly constituencies. The election would be conducted in one phase in the state and the counting would be done on December 3

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.


“Only a few months left before Lord Rama takes his place in Ayodhya”: PM Modi

J-K: Over 20 veterinary first-aid camps set up for migratory tribal peoples in Rajouri