ANI Photo | CWC 2023: Team India reaches Lucknow ahead of ODI WC match against England

The Indian Cricket Team reached Lucknow on Wednesday to play their sixth match of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup on October 29 (Sunday). Host India will take on England at the Ekana Sports City in Lucknow.
Rohit Sharma-led ‘Men in Blue’ are coming into this full confidence as they are still unbeaten in the ongoing ODI World Cup 2023. India currently stands in the top place in the tournament’s standings with 10 points and has a net run rate of +1.353.
In India’s previous encounter against New Zealand, the ‘Men in Blue’ put the Kiwis to bat first. Rohit Sharma’s side was off to a good start, reducing New Zealand to 19/2 in powerplay.
But a partnership of 159 runs between Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra (75 in 87 balls, with six fours and a six) helped NZ come back in the game.
However, India made a comeback in later stages, bundling out Kiwis for 273 runs in 50 overs.
Shami (5/54) was the pick of the bowlers for India. Kuldeep Yadav (2/73) was also fine with the ball. Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj took a wicket each.
In the run chase of 274, India started off well with a 71-run opening stand between skipper Rohit Sharma (46 in 40 balls, with four boundaries and four sixes) and Shubman Gill (26 in 31 balls, with five fours).
India did lose Shreyas Iyer (33), KL Rahul (27) and Suryakumar Yadav, but Virat Kohli (95* in 104 balls, with eight fours and two sixes) and Ravindra Jadeja (39* in 44 balls, three fours and a six) guided India to a four-wicket win with two overs to spare.
Lockie Ferguson (2/63) was the pick of the bowlers for NZ. Trent Boult, Matt Henry and Mitchell Santner got a wicket each.
Mohammed Shami was the ‘Player of the Match’ for his sensational five-wicket haul against.
India World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.
England World Cup squad: Jos Buttler (C), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes, Brydon Carse, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes. (ANI)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.