ANI Photo | “It was Congress, not BJP that was voted to power in MP previously”: Rahul Gandhi in Bhopal

As Madhya Pradesh is set to hold Assembly polls this week, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Monday reminded people of the previous election results and said that the public had voted for the grand old party in 2018 assembly polls and not the BJP.
Rahul Gandhi emphasised that the current Shivraj Singh government was not the choice of the people but rather a result of deceit and manipulation.
Addressing a public meeting in Bhopal, Rahul Gandhi said,” You (people) did not elect BJP in the previous elections. Always remember, it was Congress that was voted to power. This government is formed by cheat and deceit. This government was not yours. This government was formed by cheating in front of your eyes.”
Rahul Gandhi further alleged that BJP is only working in the interests of two to three businessmen.
“They (BJP) only work for two to three businessmen. They are giving airports, agriculture infrastructure, ports, and apples in Himachal to Adani. It is your money that is being given to them,” he said.
Slamming BJP on the alleged viral video of Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar’s son Devendra Tomar talking about transactions worth crores, Gandhi said, “The video of Devendra Tomar, Mahakal Corridor scam, midday meal’s money, Vyapam scam, Patwari exams scam, MBBS seats are sold but not once does Narendra Modi let there be an investigation – neither CBI nor ED or IT. Narendra Tomar’s son’s video surfaces but there is no CBI, IT or ED (investigation).”
“They have broken all records of corruption. They have a minister who is called Tomar. Did you see a video of his son? Whose money was he talking about? Your money. Money of the people of Madhya Pradesh.Money from your pocket. All his ministers do this,” he said.
In the last 2018 assembly elections, Congress won 114 seats with a vote share of 40.89 per cent while the BJP came second and managed to win 109 seats. Its vote share was 41.02 per cent. The Congress came to power with Kamal Nath taking oath as the chief minister but Jyotiraditya Scindia, along with 22 loyalist MLAs, switched over to BJP in 2020. The BJP later formed the government with Shivraj Singh Chouhan as Chief Minister.
Madhya Pradesh is set to undergo polls on November 17 and the counting of votes will take place on December 3. Voters will choose legislators from 230 Assembly constituencies

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.


Centre-State relationship is not that of slave-owner: Kerala Finance Minister

Rajya Sabha issues privilege notice to 5 BRS MPs for contempt of House